Anime Club: DIY Figurines

FullSizeRender

So, I am forever having the hardest time coming up with something for the teens to do during Anime Club. I know all the basics (candy sushi, bubble magnets with discarded manga, perler beads…) and my awesome co-worker who I took over the program from did so many cool things (painting lanterns, screen printing, suminagashi…) that I really feel like it’s all been done before. I’m stretching to think of new fun things the teens can noodle around with while we put on the first episode of an anime.

This week, we made anime figurines. Well, what really happened was that I ordered  bag of these wooden peg dolls from Amazon and put out tons of paint brushes, cheap acrylic paints, and sharpies. Then I let them go crazy.

How’d it go?

Well, we had a huge turnout for our little anime club that usually only has 3 or 4 kids — 13 total. They seemed to have fun messing around with the peg dolls, and the anime watching devolved into them playing weird YouTube interpretations of anime intros. I don’t even know. They all seemed to have fun, though, so I’m counting it as a win!

Leave a Reply

