Teen Display: Walk a mile in someone else’s shoes

I’ve been trying to make our teen displays more flexible and accessible to teens – sometimes it’s easy to fall in to the trap of, like, narrative nonfiction books about people who lived in the 1920s and who are named Jim. Which makes a cool display, if you can fill it, but makes it difficult for other staff to feel like they can jump in and refresh the display, and sometimes leaves you with a display that mostly empty space a week in. By choosing broad topics, I’ve found that 1) I can actual fill the display with backlist books that are awesome, but need the right reader, 2) the displays look full and happy, 3) other staff are more likely to help out, and 4) I only have to change out the displays once a month. I’m super duper lazy, and I do not have the time or inclination to change them out every week. That’s crazy!

May is Mental Health Awareness Month, and I really wanted to do a display that highlights some non-neurotypical characters. I didn’t want to just plop down a display that was like “LOOK AT THESE PEOPLE WITH MENTAL ILLNESSES!!!”, because that seemed weird and abrupt. So, I settled on the idea of walking in someone else’s shoes, headed over to Morgue File, and found some shoes. I took those shoe pics over to Canva (Canva is my new boyfriend, y’all), whipped up a poster, and grabbed some books with characters who are struggling with different kinds of challenges (OCD, depression, anxiety, schizophrenia). Boom! Display!

If you’d like to grab the display sign for yourself, download the PDF here: Walk a mile.

Have you done any great displays lately? How do you get ideas for displays?

Leave a Reply

