Toddler Time: Airplanes

My school-aged program this week was making paper airplanes, so, like a true trooper, I put together an awesome storytime full of plane books. It started out as a “things that go” storytime, but I actually found enough plane books to make it just planes. Awesome!

Opening Song: Welcome, Welcome Everyone

Welcome, welcome everyone.
Now you’re here; let’s have some fun!
First we clap our hands just so,
then we bend and touch our toes.
Welcome, welcome everyone.
Now we’re here; let’s have some fun!

Nursery Rhyme: The Old Grand Duke of York

Oh, the old grand duke of york,
He had 10,000 men.
He marched them up to the top of the hill,
then he marched them down again.
And when they were up, they were up.
And when they were down, they were down.
And when they were only halfway up,
they were neither up nor down.

Action Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Book: Miss Mouse Takes Off by Jane Ormerod

I love that this book is from the point of view of Miss Mouse (a stuffed animal!) So many kids have a special stuffed friend, and I think it’s fun for them to think about things from their friend’s point of view. My younger patrons enjoyed this book less than the preschoolers, who were much more interested in the plot. My only qualm is that the point of view shifts a little when Miss Mouse disappears, which was a little elicited some questioning looks from kids.

Song: Bread and Butter

We again had waaaaay too many kids to do the music sticks in my Toddler Time, so we did this song only in Storytime, which is always a smaller group. With my toddlers, we sang The Plane in the Sky (featured below).

Bread and butter, toast and jam,
I hit my sticks as [loud, soft, fast, slow] as I can!

Book: Pilot Pups by Michelle Meadows and Dan Andreasen.

Another book that did slightly better with the older kids than the toddlers. Toddlers seemed to enjoy it fine, but the preschoolers were super excited to discover that the pups were just toys, the mountain was a sleepy dad, and stuff like that. I really like the illustrations, which are realistic despite the Toy Story-esque plot.

Finger Play for Toddlers: Open Them, Shut Them

Open them shut them is fun because it’s easy, and most moms and dads already know it. I usually have really high participation with this one!

Finger Play for Preschoolers: Put Your Hands Up High

Kids are always so reluctant at the beginning of this song, but they’re always smiling by the end. That’s a pretty awesome song, y’all.

Action Song: Fruit Salad

My toddler moms really seem to enjoy this song – at the end, they bounce the babies up and down for each syllable of FRUIT SALAD, FRUIT SALAD. The preschoolers think I’m silly for singing a song about watermelon!

Book: Flying by Donald Crews

I had another large and super wiggly group this week. Thank goodness this book is super duper short. I flew through it (HA!). I think this book would make a pretty cool felt board, if you’re the kind of person who has time to make feltboards (that used to be me! Not during summer, though!)

Early Literacy Tip of the Week:

Travel offers lots of different opportunities to learn new words. When travelling somewhere, talk to you kiddo about the new objects and vehicles around you. Try checking out some picture books or watching some YouTube videos together about where you’re going before you get there, and talk about the things you’ll be doing on vacation. Remember, the more you talk, the more kids learn!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was another wacky crazy storytime! I made up a batch of cloud dough for the kids to play with during our free play time at the end of the program. The kids loved it soooo much! The adults and our custodian, not so much. What can you do? Kids gonna make a mess, and that’s okay by me. I’ve been trying to incorporate more sensory materials in my free play time, and it seems like the small additional time investment is really paying off!

Leave a Reply

