Toddler Time: Birds

There are a lot of great books about birds, so I thought I’d do a toddler time about them! That’s all I’ve got for an intro today, folks!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Book: Birds by Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek

This is a really great book! It has brief enough text to make it a great Toddler Time contender, and Laura Dronzek’s illustrations are both evocative and realistic. It’s strange, though – while reading it, I am always expecting it to be a rhyming book, but it’s not. So that always messes with my reading rhythm. But that’s no fault of the book! It’s just due to some strange quirk in my brain. What I also really like about this book is that it plays around with the idea of birds a little – they can be any size or shape or color, so what makes them all birds?

Song: Storytime Cube

Book: Little Green by Keith Baker 

This is another beautiful book! The illustrations are just so gorgeous and have so much depth. I also like the idea of watching an emerald hummingbird flitting around the garden. In reality, though, I think this book plus Birds was too much description and too little plot. The toddlers were getting pretty wiggly at this point.

Activity: Parachute Play

Now that my regulars have all gotten used to the parachute, it contains only delight, and no fear. I’ve found the winning recipe for us is toddlers underneath (or on the side if they don’t want to go in), and parents on the edge. It’s also a great way to get the parents to participate – you can’t just sit there because I’m going to put a parachute on your head if you don’t move!

Book: The Odd Egg by Emily Gravett

What a great book! Even though the birds may or may not have gotten chomped at the end, my toddlers LOVED this book. I can’t imagine the challenge of telling a story in so few words, but Emily Gravett knocks it out of the park again. Also, it’s a fun opportunity to talk about how not just birds come out of eggs!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This storytime was EXTREMELY wiggly. I don’t know if it was the weather, or the stories I picked, or the fact that we had a bigger group, but this wasn’t a particularly engaging storytime for them, I don’t think. Ah well, you can’t win ’em all!

Leave a Reply

