Toddler Time: Art

A big challenge with this storytime was finding enough books about art that I hadn’t already used for my color storytimes. If I had thought ahead and realized that (hahahaha.), I would have spaced them out a little more, so I could recycle some of my favorite selections (which also would have been an excellent chance to talk to parents about the benefits of repetition!) Alas and alack, I didn’t think of it, so I just found new fun books!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Book: Andrew Drew and Drew by Barney Saltzberg

A truly charming picture book that feels special without being gimmicky. On each page, Andrew starts out drawing something, and then the page folds out and reveals the rest of the drawing. I really like that the pages are uncluttered, and let the simple pencil drawings shine through. This book is also super short and definitely readable for toddlers.

Song: Storytime Cube

Book: Warthogs Paint by Pamela Duncan Edwards and Henry Cole

Boorish (ha!) warthogs decide to paint the walls of their house in this silly color-mixing book. I was distracted when reading this book by the fact that our copy was full of torn pages, so I don’t have too much to say about the art. Librarians of the world – it’s okay to weed picture books with torn pages!

Activity: Parachute Play

Parachute play continues to be a fun experience! I definitely need to learn some parachute specific songs, and we usually end up singing regular songs while moving the parachute up and down. That doesn’t mean it’s not super fun, though!

Book: I’m the Best Artist in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry

This charmer was definitely more well-understood than the original I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean with my toddlers. I think toddlers and preschoolers definitely understand making a mess pretty well! I really, really enjoy that the art on different pages is in different styles. With older kids, this book would offer some really great opportunities for discussion and guessing who the pages are referencing. I also can’t say enough how enjoyable it is to read from a big ol’ picture book. It’s so much easier to pan the book to everyone when it’s not a teeny tiny book.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

A fun storytime that probably I could do five more times with completely different books! Art is a fun topic, and I think kids get so much crafty stuff shoved at them that it’s nice to think about the art side, too!

Leave a Reply

