Toddler Time: Baby Animals

Since the Winter programming session and Spring programming session in my system are back to back, with no time in between (eep!), I decided to make a few changes to ring in the new session! We transitioned from the color themes to a mix of different stuff, and I switched up my storytime stretchers, too!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Book: Whose Baby Am I? by John Butler

This book is stinking adorable. The guessing part is pretty easy, which means toddlers can participate if they’re up for talking and preschoolers feel like they are sharp as can be. The illustrations are soft and fitting of the baby animals they depict.

Song: Storytime Cube

Book: Chicky Chicky Chook Chook by Cathy MacLennan

This book is extremely silly! It’s mostly full of silly noises that baby animals make. The illustrations are cute but silly. Sometimes it’s hard to make an entire book of silly sounds without cracking up! But that’s why I have the best job.

Activity: Parachute Play

I was super delighted when I discovered a 12 foot parachute deep in the recesses of my children’s closet. Who knows who bought it and how long ago it was last used, but I decided I’ll happily use it! I introduced the parachute, and had all the toddlers sit on top of the parachute while the parents grabbed the handles. We moved the parachute up and down and made waves, then sang a song while waving it up and down (I just used whatever song popped into my head – I think we did Twinkle Twinkle). It was a HUGE hit. I think the parachute is just so different than anything they get to do at home, and that makes it special!

Book: Who Are You, Baby Kangaroo? by Stella Blackstone and Clare Beaton

This book is outstanding for two reasons: the vocabulary it introduces and the unique illustrations. Finding out the names of all the baby animals is pretty delightful, and what kid doesn’t need to know that a baby swan is a cygnet? The story isn’t outstanding otherwise, and the rhythm is a tiny bit clunky, but the excellent opportunity to talk about new worlds really makes it great. The illustrations are all created from cloth and beads, and it really does make them stand out. One little girl was talking to me during playtime after storytime, and was asking why the sand on the cover looked so odd. I explained that it was a picture of fabric, and those were tiny beads. She was positively entranced by the idea that you could make an illustration out of the same stuff you make clothes out of!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a really fun start to the session. I think the parachute is going to be my new best friend, and I can’t lie – I’m glad to be freed from the tyranny of color themes!

Leave a Reply

