Toddler Time: Colors!

In our Winter programming session, my Toddler Times moved through tons of color themes. I thought a nice theme to wrap it all up would be just a storytime about colors! So here we go!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Book: Monsters Love Colors by Mike Austin

I LOVE this book! I really like how excited the monsters are, and I think it’s a fun way to deal with the whole color mixing trope. I also really enjoy the scribble-y illustrations, and I think it would offer such a fun way to talk to preschoolers about color mixing and have them make their own color monsters! It would definitely be a great addition to your storytime shelf!

Game: Little Bird

Book: Butterfly, Butterfly by Petr Horacek

This book is so versatile I find myself grabbing for it a lot. Colors? Bugs? Gardens? Spring? This book has got it all covered. The text is short enough that it is easy to read for toddlers, but the colorful illustrations keep the interest of preschoolers, too. Plus, who doesn’t love a giant pop-out butterfly?!?

Song: Storytime Cube

Book: Mouse Paint by Ellen Stoll Walsh

I’ve used this book so many times before that it’s like an old friend. I even have a really excellent flannelboard for it! We  have a big book version, which I find to be a really fun change for my toddlers. Since I usually have a small crowd, I only break out the big books occasionally, and the wonder on their faces that a BOOK could be that BIG is pretty wonderful. Anyway, Mouse Paint. Pretty much a classic. Adorable, great color mixing and interactive elements, and the simple illustrations never look dated.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

I probably could have called this storytime “books Ms Ariel just really, really likes”, because that’s what I ended up reading across the board! Which, you know, should probably always be the case! I know that kids and parents can definitely see the difference between a reading that’s enthusiastic and a reading that’s just kinda meh. Note to future self: only pick books to read that you love!

Leave a Reply

