Toddler Time: Yellow

Yellow was a much easier storytime than previous colors, because there are so many child-friendly things that start with yellow – from construction equipment to ducks.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Book: Who Made This Cake? by Chihiro Nakagawa and Jinji Koyose

I grabbed this book as soon as I realized that Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site was too long for my toddlers, and it’s totally amazing! I hadn’t heard of it before my catalog search, but I’m so glad I pulled it off the shelf! I’m not sure if the illustrations are so unique because the book was originally published in Japan, or if the illustrator just has a definite style, but they really make the book shine. They’re so lively, especially given that they’re made of thin lines and what seems to be watercolors. Plus, the idea of a construction equipment being used to build a giant cake was just too great for these toddlers to handle.

Game: Little Bird

Our nests are looking a little tattered, but I know our game board will hold on for a few more storytimes!

Book: Wee Little Chick by Lauren Thompson and John Butler

A sweet little book about a tiny chick, accompanied by exceptionally gentle illustrations. Baby chicks are always popular with my toddlers, probably because they’re so stinkin’ cute! This book was fast to read, with simple text, which is perfect for my wiggle toddlers.

Song: Storytime Cube

Book: Lemons Are NOT Red by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

I love this book! Each page features a cut out of a familiar shape, with the wrong color peeking through from the next page. As you flip the page, the cut out is magically turned to the correct color! Whenever I read this book to babies or toddlers, I use it as an opportunity to talk about how important it is for parents to talk to their little ones and ask them questions, even if they don’t answer back. This book is excellent for anyone from babies to elementary schoolers!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a great toddler time! Partially because I pulled out the longer books to use exclusively with my older toddlers, and partially because yellow has so many cool things to read about!

One thought on “Toddler Time: Yellow

Leave a Reply

