Toddler Time: Blue

Quick, think of some blue things! Blue…berries? Blue…bells? Blue…skies? I mean there’s just not that many things that are blue that are also featured in toddler books! Except, very strangely, birds. Lots of birds who are also blue. So, I have begun to think of this as my blue birds (not bluebirds. Those are different!) toddler and storytime. Here we go!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Blue Chicken by Deborah Freedman

Gah, this is a stinkin’ beautiful book. The illustrations are just this weirdly perfect combination of delicate and vibrant? I think it’s the contrast between the fairly traditionally drawn animals and the splashes of blue paint on the pages.  Anyhow, this is a really excellent and silly book. My preschoolers enjoyed it a lot more than my toddlers. Or maybe they were just more demonstrative! Anyway, the concept in this book is so fun, and I think if you really wanted to, you could build a whole art lesson about mistakes in art and how they’re part of the process. If you do crafts after storytime, I think putting out watercolors would be a really fun way to tie the activity directly back to the book.

Game: Little Bird

Having the same bones for storytime every week (openers, book, little bird game, book, storytime cube, shakers, rumpumpum, closing song, playtime) has definitely made a difference in the attention spans of my group. I mean, that sounds so strange, but I think toddlers and preschoolers, who live in a world of structure, appreciate knowing what’s coming next! Also, ps, it makes planning more fun for me.

Book: Have You Seen My New Blue Socks?  by Eve Bunting and Sergio Ruzzier

This book has the most delightful Seuess-esque rhyming in it! It is a super fun book to read aloud, because the rhymes are so pitch-perfect, and the story is so endearing. The illustrations compliment the text perfectly without overwhelming it, making this one of my favorite picture books for storytime of the past few years. It’s also an excellent opportunity to talk to parents about why rhyming is so good for early literacy. Here’s an article that talks mostly about nursery rhymes, but if you’re feeling like you don’t know why on earth you’re constantly reading rhyming text, it’s definitely worth checking out: Rhymers Are Readers: The Importance of Nursery Rhymes.

Song: Storytime Cube

We’re just rolling along. Nothing to see here.

Book: Blue Goose by Nancy Tafuri

Do I even need to talk about how awesome Nancy Tafuri books are for storytimes? This book is just so stinking charming, and it fits in not just the basic colors, but some nice color mixing, too. I almost wished it had saved it for my upcoming storytime about ALL the colors, but that’s just because it was so cute. This is a really delightful book – it lives on my storytime shelf so I can use it all the time.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a fun storytime! All these books were very accessible and they were fun to read aloud! Plus, I think all the toddlers are really getting a hold on taking turns. They get SO excited when I flip over the poster board and the see the nests!

Leave a Reply

