Toddler Time: Getting Dressed

Ha – I found this post in my drafts folder, and thought I might as well share it with you guys! I did this storytime back in December, and it was interesting. It was an excellent example of a storytime theme that I really wanted to do for some reason, even though I didn’t really have great books in mind. I also planned it back at the end of the summer, so I think that Past Ariel wasn’t really thinking about how Future Ariel would present the storytime. I *also* had a pretty crazy month, so I ended up using these stories for my outreach stortytimes this month, too! Anyway, here’s how it went!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Bear Gets Dressed by Harriet Ziefert and Arnold Lobel

This book is so, SO good for kids who are about three and up. My two and under crowd aren’t really in a place where they’re into interacting with me yet. I definitely still throw in a spiel about how it’s okay to ask your baby questions, even if they aren’t ready to answer yet, because it’s so good for language development. It definitely fell flat with the younger kiddos, though. All the older kids LOVE guessing which item bear will wear that day, and this book is AMAZING for outreaches, because it keeps even the most wiggly kids occupied.

Song: Washing Machine 

I found a song on the web about a washing machine, but I ended up using the concept only loosely. First I talked for a second about washing machines, and how they’re what moms and dads use to clean our clothes after we get them dirty (I mean, if you’re a kid. I WISH my mom did my laundry still 😉 ) Then the kids just rolled their hands with me, and we went fast, slow, up, down, and all around. It was a fun movement activity, and I didn’t really think they kiddos were worst off because I didn’t have a clever rhyme memorized.


Book: Kitty Cat, Kitty Cat, Are You Waking Up? by Bill Martin Jr, Michael Sampson, and Laura J Bryant

This book had great read-aloud rhythm! It also features a cute cat, which, as a stereotypical librarian, I heartily endorse. The illustrations are soft and sweet, and there’s definitely lots of opportunity for dialogic reading – finding the mouse on every page, asking if the kids can find the shoes kitty cat is looking for, and more. Even though the text is very simple, it was a big hit with my preschool outreaches. Another Bill Martin storytime win!

Song: Storytime Cube

Rollin’ the cube. Pretty much my favorite thing to do.

Book: Too Purpley! by Jean Reidy and Genevieve Leloup

Hmm, an example of a book I really like, but that didn’t quite work for storytime. I think a little exposition would have helped? I mean, that sounds strange, but I think it would have been nice to have the first page be an explanation of the fact that the little girl doesn’t want to wear each of the outfits, because they are…too whatever. I think my older kiddos got what was happening, but the younger preschoolers had no idea. They all really liked that the turtle was wearing matching clothes in each outfit, though.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a challenging storytime! It was right before Christmas, and I had lots of newcomers to my in house toddler time and toddler two. I LOVE seeing new faces, but sometimes it’s hard for new kids (and parents) to know what’s going on. And I certainly do a little more housekeeping right at the beginning, explaining that toddlers gonna toddle and so on.  But it definitely causes a tip in the balance of toddler time from barely constrained chaos to just plain chaos at times. I think I just need to keep that in mind in the future, and pick out approachable books that I’m super comfortable with to make the influx of newbies easier!

Leave a Reply

