Toddler Time: Green

Continuing the session theme of colors, I tackled things that were green with this toddler time.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Where is the Green Sheep? by Mem Fox and Judy Horacek

This is such a fun book about opposites! I always like reading books with crazy vocabulary to my toddlers (and preschoolers!), because I know that even if they’re not getting the exact meaning of that exact word that exact second, they’re being exposed to a rich range of words. And the more words you hear, the more words you learn, the more words you’ll be ready to read! That’s what I tell my moms, at least. Anyhow, this book is always a delight, although I found that it was a tad long for my youngest toddlers (who would probably be happier in a baby time, but alas, I’m only one woman! So to toddler time they must come). I know I’ve seen several iterations of this as a flannelboard, though, and I think that the ability to make it more interactive would make it even stronger as a toddler title. I could also have clipped some of the pages. Live and learn.

Game: Little Bird

Still enjoying Little Bird. All the toddlers are getting SO much better at taking turns, and they’re pretty great at matching colors, too! Which is more impressive because the birds and the nests aren’t exactly the same shades!

Book: Turtle Splash: Countdown at the Pond by Cathryn Falwell

Man, this is another book that I’ve used before, and really like, but dang is it long when you’re halfway through it and the wiggles set in. Counting books are excellent, but I think maybe this one was confusing for toddlers, because they seemed to think the turtles were dead at the end. Oops!

Song: Storytime Cube

Storytime cube, storytime cube! Who knows what we sang? It left my mind immediately! But the storytime cube adds a lot of fun to the proceedings.

Book: Nighty Night, Little Green Monster by Ed Emberley

A kinder, gentler version of Go Away, Big Green Monster. I love love LOVE the cut out pages in this one (like the original!), and the fact that it’s not scary like Big Green Monster. It’s really fun to watch little kids’ amazed faces as they see the monster taking form and then going away. Definitely a winner, and I thiiiiink you could even use it for a baby time, if you so desired.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

Hmmmmmmmm. I really like all the books I read for this storytime, but the wiggles were strong. I think reading *two* slightly long books was too much for my younger toddlers. For my story time kiddos (listen, I often read them exactly the same books, but with more commentary and questions for the older kids), it was a much better fit. Overall, though, not a flop! Just a wiggle.

2 thoughts on “Toddler Time: Green

  1. I had forgotten about the book “Turtle Splash”. To keep away the worries of the turtles dying at the end of the book, before reading the book out loud, I would talk about how turtles love to sun themselves because they are “cold blooded” and this helps them warm up. When I’ve been kayaking I’ve many a turtle sunning themselves, but they quietly slip into the water one by one as you approach. There are opportunities for new vocabulary and this book I would think fits the Common Core, plus they are doing math by counting. If you work at a small rural library like me, you could even use this as a flannelboard letting each child come and remove one from the board-learning self control/taking turns. Or use the app Felt Board on your iPad.

Leave a Reply

