Toddler Time: Orange

Haha, remember how I used to post the same day as the storytimes in question? Welp, this post is from mid-January, so take THAT timeliness! It turns out being down a reference staff member really does have an impact on my more fringe professional development activities, like blogging. But hope springs eternal, so I write you this post from the reference desk. Let’s see how it goes…

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Orange Pear Apple Bear by Emily Gravett

I think this book might be one of those that I really do love, but just doesn’t fit with my storytime style! I ended up presenting a version of this storytime to five different groups, ranging from babies to preschoolers. This book was definitely more of a win with the babies, because it’s short and easy to get through quickly if they’re wiggly. For older kids, though, this book just didn’t click. I love the illustrations – they’re very gentle.

Game: Little Bird

We’re still working on taking turns, but I’m consistently surprised by how fast my toddlers learn! They all really enjoy this game.

Book: Where is Tippy Toes by Betsy Lewin

This is a really cute picture book. The art style is very bright, and the lines are very clean. The rhyming text is short (which means it’s pretty easy to read out loud!), and there are fold outs on most pages. I am not 100% sure that the toddlers understood the plot of the story, but they all liked finding Tippy Toes on the page.

Song: Storytime Cube

We rolled the storytime cube! Fun was had by all! A lot of kids do NOT want to do I’m a Little Teapot, apparently. Who knew?

[fixitsam.jpg]

Book: Fix It, Sam by Lori Ries

Talk about a book with an abstract plot! This book is pretty much about a slightly jerky baby who keeps messing things up and then gets his older brother to fix it. It’s a fun plot, and I think older kids enjoyed it. The youngest patrons, though, just didn’t really understand what was happening, and the funny ending went over their heads. Anyway, the pencil drawings are expressive and fun, and it’s surprisingly hard to find books about orange things, so Sam’s orange hair had to do!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

An excellent storytime, despite my slightly too abstract book choices. Orange was a harder color to theme than I had first thought. Orange you glad I didn’t try to force in some tenuously connected songs?

2 thoughts on “Toddler Time: Orange

  1. Have you tried reading “Orange, Pear, Apple, Bear” and assigning motions to the different words so each page when you read the kids will wind up doing a list of motions in different order. I saw this done by Julie Dietzel-Glair from a presentation she did for her book “Books in Motion”. I’ve tried this out and had a lot of success with my wigglier groups.

    1. Oh! That’s such an amazing idea! I’m definitely going to try that the next time I include Orange, Pear, Apple, Bear in a storytime! I think it would be cool to do a storytime with books that tell a story with only a few words – like Apple by Nikki McClure and Orange, Pear…

Leave a Reply

