Toddler Time: Red

I didn’t have a lot of time to spend on planning my Winter 2014 storytimes, so I decided to streamline my planning a little. For the (rather short!) Winter session, I settled on colors as themes. I also gave up on trying to find cutesy songs to match each theme — they were never as popular as the classics, and for the younger toddlers they were confusing to learn. SO! Here’s what I did for my first storytime after our Christmas break!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Apple by Nikki McClure

This book is stunning in its ability to tell a story in so few words. With only one word on each page, this book walks you through the life of an apple, from being picked to growing a new tree after it’s forgotten on the ground. The woodcut illustrations are really cool, and if you’re into doing crafts after storytime, this book would definitely lend itself to doing some cool print art – like with apples!

Game: Little Bird

I let each kid come up and put the bird in its nest, and we clapped for them all! It was a fun way to practice colors AND taking turns in a really fun way! We’ll be doing the board every week until the end of February.

 


Book: Red Sled by Patricia Thomas

This picture book is actually a poem! I talked with my older group a little about how different of a story it was than Apple, although they both use very few words to tell a story. Some of the vocabulary was a little tricky for the kids without context, but that’s just an opportunity to talk about the words!

Song: Storytime Cube

We rolled the storytime cube! Since it’s full of fun songs, every one of them is a winner.

Book: Red Hen by Ed Emberly and Rebecca Emberly

This is a pretty cute book, with the Emberly’s characteristic bright colors and clear lines. The older kids had fun telling me what the Red Hen was going to say.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

A very fun storytime! I think making my “script” a little more regular let me do more patter about early literacy and the books, instead of trying to keep a bunch of song lyrics in my head. Next up, orange!

One thought on “Toddler Time: Red

Leave a Reply

