Toddler Time: Farm Animals, Again

I felt a little funny spotlighting farm animals right after a holiday that involves, um, eating them for a lot of people. But I also LOVE farm animals, so I just barreled through.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Clip Clip  by Nicola Smee

I really consider this book to be a contemporary storytime classic. It has such simple, repetitive text, but it still manages to tell a little story. I also really love the pictures, and I find the animals’ expressions to be excellent! This book scales pretty well, because it’s short enough for babies, but older kids definitely get the humor of the situation more.

Song: Old MacDonald Had a Farm

I mean really, what else did you expect?!?

 


Book: Piggies in the Pumpkin Patch by Mary Peterson and Jennifer Rofe

I really love this book, and I’ve used it in at least a few storytimes. It’s definitely a powerhouse of vocabulary, packing in tons of unusual words like matted and looming. It’s also a joy to read out loud, with a nice rise and fall of action.

Storytime Cube:  I’ve been trying to move toward having a more interactive experience, so it was the storytime cube again today! Plus, I’m seeing how many more parents participate in, say, The Wheels on the Bus rather than an obscure song I picked out to fit my theme perfectly. 

Book: Baby Says “Moo” by JoAnn

This book is so cute it almost makes me sick. It does get a little texty toward the end (it’s sort of a cumulative story), but the rhyming text goes SO FAST when you’re reading out loud. My toddlers sat through it just fine, and the parents all made “awwwww” sounds when we got to the end.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

A pretty good storytime! I think popular topics like farm animals are great, because parents get ideas for new books, but we’re still singing some familiar songs. Even though it was cold and rainy, I think we all had lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

