Toddler Time: Nursery Rhymes

I knew I wanted to do something familiar and easy for our toddler times that feel the day before Thanksgiving. I figured we’d have a lot of new faces, a lot of our regulars would be out, and I’d probably have some holiday-itis (like senioritis for the rest of us) going on. So, I settled on Nursery Rhymes. Here’s what happened!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Ten in the Bed  by Jane Cabrera

I really like the ten in the bed rhyme in general, and the illustrations in this book are SO wonderful. Buuuuut I think that the concept was  little stretched.  Instead of “one” falling out each time, a different concept is introduced on each page (like, they are all dancing on the bed, and the ballerina falls out). It was a little confusing to read out loud, and some of the characters (like the astronaut) were hard to transition between. Anyway, while I love the art on this book, I think it was too much of a riff on the nursery rhyme for the younger kids who weren’t as familiar with it.

Song: 1,2, Buckle My Shoe

There are so many benefits to singing nursery rhymes to kids, and I think 1,2, Buckle My Shoe is an amazing example of that. I slipped in a couple of literacy tips before we sang, mentioning to parents that they probably know dozens of songs to sing to their kids and don’t even know it.


Book: Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star by Jane Cabrera

This book was the hit of storytime! Jane Cabrera’s beautiful art was accompanied by additional verses to the song. Because the traditional verse was included first, I think it was easier for kids to follow than Ten In the Bed. I also really love the emphasis on family and that the same stars shine on everyone! A great book that would also fit well with a “things in the sky” storytime.

Song: Storytime Cube

All the songs on our storytime cube are either nursery rhymes or common songs! I don’t remember what songs we sang, but I know we sang them with gusto.

Song: Row, Row, Row Your Boat

Another song everyone knows. I emphasized to parents that repetition is really good for kids, and that there’s nothing wrong with singing the same songs over and over.

Book: Hickory Dickory Dock by Keith Baker

Love the illustrations on this one! I think I should probably shift it to the beginning of storytime if I use it again, since it’s a little on the long side. I really enjoy that the day passes as the clock moves forward.  Definitely a winner, but maybe with a slight tweak.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a solidly ok storytime. It wasn’t great, but given how many storytimer first timers we had, I’m comfortable with that! It’s always good to see parents and kids who haven’t been in have a fun experience, and I always hope I’ll get to see them again! Next time I use this theme, I need to be sure to include at least one plot-centric book, so it’s a more balanced storytime.

Leave a Reply

