Toddler Time: Music, Again!

I really love singing and making music, so I figure that toddlers must too, right? RIGHT! So, let’s do a music storytime!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Squeak, Rumble, Whomp, Whomp Whomp  by Wynton Marsalis

This books is awesome! It’s fun to read out loud, it’s got colorful, dynamic art, and it’s packed with New Orleans-y details. The musicality of it also means that it appeals to toddlers and older kids. I LOVE it for storytimes about music, noise, or living in the city!

Song: Clap, Clap, Clap Your Hands

I have used this song from Storytimes for Two Year Olds by Judy Nichols several times. It’s super easy to learn, it’s fun to move with, and it’s easy for parents to do with their kids AND kids to do on their own. I would even use it as an opening song for every week – that’s how much I like it!

Clap, clap, clap your hands 
Clap your hands with me!
Clap them fast!
Clap        them       slow!
Clap your hands with me!
(stomp your feet, pat your knees, la-la sing a song)


Book: The Babies on the Bus by Karen Katz

This is a pretty straight riff on The Wheels on the Bus. I just sing it in storytime, partially because I don’t think I could read The Wheels on the Bus if I tried, and partially because it encourages parent interaction. Karen Katz’s pictures are, as always, full of big round babies with the cutest little faces known to man. My library’s copy even had a sparkly front! Pretty much the perfect book for toddler time.

Song: Storytime Cube

We rolled the storytime cube! I don’t remember what songs we sang, but we sang them with gusto!

Book: How Can You Dance by Rick Walton and Ada Lopez-Esclava

Oh, the high hopes I had for this book. Each page features a question that suggests a movement. For example, how can you dance like a flamingo? The rhyming text is really charming, and the illustrations are a bit quirky. The format of the book, though, was a little too small for my younger toddlers to all get to see. Plus, they were pretty wiggly by this time and didn’t want to do any dancing. My older toddler crowd was much more into the dancing, but the book went on for just a weeeee bit too long. I think this book would be a hit at an outreach, with preschoolers or grade school kids who are really enjoying playing with space and motion.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a solid storytime, but I feel like I should have taken out the instruments and let the kids play with them more. I would definitely replace How Can You Dance? with something more appropriate with the younger set, but my love for Squeak, Bumble will never, ever be squelched.

Leave a Reply

