Toddler Time: Bedtime

There are SO many bedtime stories out there, so of course I had to have a bedtime themed toddler time!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Bear Snores On  by Karma Wilson

I used this book for my Fall Outreach storytimes, so by the time I read it for this bedtime storytime, I had probably read it outloud 10 times already. My delivery had been perfected, and it definitely showed! As I do more outreach storytimes, my belief that you can never read a storytime book too many times before storytime is more and more solidified. Anyhow, Karma Wilson’s bear books are a joy, with their rhyming text, incredible vocabulary, and Jane Chapman’s delightfully expressive illustrations. I read this book first, because it’s a bit wordier than my normal toddler time books.

Song: Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed

A classic song about not listening to your mom, monkeys, and bedtime! I had to use it! I also really enjoy using songs from my childhood because they’re often also songs from parents’ childhoods, which means more likely to sing along. It also serves as a reminder to parents that they can sing any song they want to their kids – the singing is the important part!

Five little monkeys jumping on the bed,
one fell off and bumped his head!
Mama called the doctor and the doctor said,
“No more monkeys jumping on the bed!”

Cornelius P. Mudd, Are You Ready for Bed?

Book: Cornelius P Mud, Are You Ready for Bed? by Barney Saltzberg

I love how silly this book is! It was definitely a bigger hit with the older kids, who cracked themselves up pointing out how Cornelius was doing everything wrong.

Song: Storytime Cube

We rolled the storytime cube and got Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, which was perfect for our theme! Huzzah!

Book: How Does a Dinosaur Say Goodnight by Jane Yolen

An excellent entry into the How Do Dinosaurs… series. Any time I can read a dinosaur book I’m on board, and this one is just too delightful to not include it in a bedtime theme! I will say again that I really appreciate how big these books are, which makes them excellent for sharing with a group.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

A pretty great storytime. I would eventually like to have a monthly pajama storytime at my branch, so that parents who work during the week or have little folks in preschool could come visit, and any of these books would make an excellent beginning for that program!

Leave a Reply

