Toddler Time: Friendship

I knew this theme was a little bit of a stretch, in terms of being a bit abstract for the toddler group. But I thought there were some fun books, and a few fun songs, so I barreled ahead!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Pepo and Lolo Are Friends  by Ana Martin Larranaga

There are many, many reasons why I enjoy the book. Some of them are that the pictures are freakin’ adorable, the text is simple without being simplistic, and it has a pretty nuanced vision of friendship (you can get mad at each other but still be friends).  It was an excellent, short readaloud that I would definitely use again!

Song: The More We Get Together

Okay, confession time: I totally thought this song had originated with Raffi. Some intrepid Googling, however, tells me that he only popularized it, and it is in fact a traditional British folk song! How cool! Anyway, everyone knows it, somehow, and it’s always a fun song to throw into a storytime.

The more we get together,
together, together,
the more we get together,
the happier we shall be.
For your friends
are my friends,
and my friends
are your friends.
The more we get together,
the happier we shall be.


Book: Thank You Bear by Greg Foley

I really enjoy this book, and Greg Foley’s illustrations always win me over immediately. However, I think the plot may have gone a little over the toddler’s heads. I know they appreciate how it feels to be excited about something nobody else is excited about, but I think this particular iteration of it is a bit too subtle for the under 3 set.

Song: Ten Best Friends Are We

You weren’t expecting another Ten Little variation, were you? Well, BAM! That’s me – giving you infinite variations on the childhood songs you used to love. This particular iteration came from Miss Meg’s Storytime.

One best, two best, three best friends
four best, five best, six best friends
seven best, eight best, nine best friends
The ten best friends are we!

Book: A Birthday for Cow! by Jan Thomas

This book is an excellent chance to practice your silly voices! Plus, who doesn’t love a radish? I was especially excited to read this book because I did this storytime right near my birthday, and I do love cake (and radishes)!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a pretty good storytime! I think that it had a good balance between straight-forward stories (Pepo and Lolo), silly interactive stuff (A Birthday for Cow), and a little more abstract (Thank You Bear). I’ve definitely been trying recently to balance out different kinds of books, which is something I didn’t really think of a year ago when I started planning storytimes! Look at that professional growth! Grow, Ariel, grow!

Leave a Reply

