Toddler Time: Things that Go

Transportation is always a popular topic with the toddler set! Plus, my system’s early literacy committee (which yours truly is lucky to be a member of!) just put together a Transportation Play and Learn that’s rolling out in November and December, so this was a great chance to cross-promote the program!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Toot Toot Beep Beep

Book: Toot Toot, Beep Beep by Emma Garcia

Emma Garcia is one of my favorite toddler-appropriate authors. I love her collages and I love that she incorporates concepts like colors into her books so seamlessly.

Song: Driving Around in My Little Red Car

The only thing I love more than stealing (um, borrowing!) songs from other children’s librarians is stealing them from myself! I used this song originally in my color themed toddler time, but it fit right in with the transportation theme.

Drivin’ round in my little red car
Drivin’ round in my little red car
Drivin’ round in my little red car
zoom zoom zoom zoom zoom

(let the kids shout out more colors to sing)


Book: I’m Fast by Kate and Jim McMullan

Kate and Jim McMullan’s books (I Stink!, I’m Fast!, and I’m Dirty, among others) are definitely crowd pleasers. They incorporate lots of great vocabulary, and they’re such high-interest topics that toddlers are always willing to listen!

Song: Twinkle Twinkle Traffic Light

I borrowed this song from a children’s librarian in my system who sings it to her daughter when her daughter gets impatient at traffic lights. It’s so cute, and I love that it shows parents that the can literally sing anywhere!

Twinkle twinkle traffic light,
On the corner, shining bright.
Red means stop, green means go.
Yellow means go verrrrry slooooooow.
Twinkle twinkle traffic light,
on the corner shining bright.

Book: A Truck Goes Rattley-Bumpa by Jonathan London

Simple, rhyming text makes this book excellent to read aloud! I also like books that explore what a category is — that a truck can vary from an ice cream truck to a tractor trailer, but they’re all called the same name. What an excellent way to explore vocabulary!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

A fine storytime! Next time, though, I would try to work in at least one book that is more plot driven. Sounds crazy for toddlers, I know, but all my books today were a little too descriptive, and I think when the books are too similar, the wiggles get worse!

Leave a Reply

