Toddler Time: Space!

My lovely library is a site of early voting, which is great for the democratic process! It’s not so great for toddler time, because we get booted out of our meeting room and into the children’s area of the library. We have a little temporary wall that divides the space from the rest of the grown up activities, but it’s not ideal for focus or participation. This was also my first toddler time back from my wedding weekend! As one of my younger regulars went to hand me some goodies, I bent down and promptly threw out my back! Overall, not ideal conditions for toddler timing, but I made it work as best I could.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: I Want to Be an Astronaut by Byron Barton

I mean, it’s a Byron Barton book, so it’s perfect for sharing, right? Big, bold pictures, simple rhyming text, and an excellent subject matter.

Action Rhyme: I’m a Little Rocket

You guys, this action rhyme came from NASA! How awesome is that?!? Far more awesome than creaking through it with my sore back.

I’m a little rocket (squat down)
Pointing toward the sky (point arms upward)
4…3…2…1…
Blast off, (blast in to the air)
Fly! (zoom around room with arms out!)


Book: Zoom! Zoom! Zoom! I’m Off to the Moon! by Dan Yaccarino

A great book for sharing, with bright, bold illustrations and a nice, large format. This book also features rhyming text, which is pretty much my favorite thing to read aloud!

Flannel Board:  Four Little Stars

Easy peasy addition to every children’s librarian’s ever growing four little somethings collection. Snagged from Preschool Education – although I did think it was strange that the stars were afraid of the sun. He’s just one of you, guys!

Four little stars
winking at me.
One shot off,
then there were three!

three little stars
With nothing to do.
One shot off,
Then there were two!

Two little stars
Afraid of the sun.
One shot off,
Then there was one!

One little star
Alone is no fun.
It shot off,
then there was none!

Book: Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me by Eric Carle

A classic Eric Carle book with several excellent fold-out pages! Also, it gave me an excellent chance to sneak in a little STEM in regards to the stages of the moon.

Shaker Songs: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

Despite all the barriers to success, this was definitely a solid storytime! I probably wouldn’t do it again for toddlers, though. I think space is just too hard of a concept for them still. I would either focus on one aspect (stars or the moon), or the wider idea for preschoolers or elementary schoolers.

Leave a Reply

