Toddler Time: Owls

Sorry it’s been a while, folks! I was busy, you know, getting married! It was great, and I actually didn’t miss any storytimes. It just made my life slightly crazy for a couple of weeks. But thanks to the delights of early voting, I’m hanging out in my building for three hours with no patrons! So it’s catch-up time!  This toddler time is from way back on October 2.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Wow! Said the Owl by Tim Hopgood

This book is…okay. I definitely love the concept, but I feel like the text is in some sort of uncanny valley where it almost rhymes and is repetitive, but isn’t quite rhyming enough. It was much more fun with my older toddler group, who I made say “WOW!” with me on each page.

Song: If You’re an Owl and You Know It

This great little song from Librarian Lisa was perfect for my theme and fun. What I like about variations of If You’re Happy and You Know It is that you can easily lengthen or shorten the song by adding or taking away verses on the fly. Which is great for me, because my age range in my toddler times can end up going from 18 months old to 3 1/2 years old – and that’s some serious change when it comes to the ability to sit still!


Book: Little Owl Lost by Chris Haughton

I really, really enjoy Chris Haughton’s books. I think the illustrations are quirky without looking like they were made exclusively for adults, his books are usually larger (which makes them great for sharing), and they tell an excellent story without much text. This book also gave me a chance to practice my silly voices.

Song: One Little, Two Little, Three Little Owls

This song came from the same post as If You’re an Owl and You Know It. Definitely fun, and I like variations on this theme because of all the counting they incorporate.

One Little, two little, three little owls,
Four little, five little, six little owls,
Seven little, eight little, nine little owls,
Ten owls fly and hoot!

Book: Little Owl’s Night by Divya Srinivasan

I really like that the color palette in this book is fitting of the dark night, but not boring. The colors that are used are bright and the shapes are sharp, making it an excellent book to share. I also really liked that it featured so many nocturnal animals – which gave me an excellent chance to incorporate noctournal as a vocabulary word.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was a really fun storytime to do! Something about Fall just makes me think of our feathered friends, and owls are just a really fun animal in general. A couple of weeks after this toddler time, one of the moms told me that, which reading with her dad, her toddler had pointed at an owl in a book and made the “hoo, hoo” noise we made during the songs. It really hit home with me how much toddlers are picking up, even if they seem like they’re just wandering around the room or rolling on the floor. Total win!

One thought on “Toddler Time: Owls

Leave a Reply

