Toddler Time: Quiet and Loud

A foray into opposites that was much more successful than when I tried Big and Small. Maybe because they’re words used as commands more? Who knows.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

The Baby Goes Beep

Book: The Baby Goes Beep by Rebecca O’Connell

LOVE Rebecca O’Connell. LOVE! Her books are so great for babies and toddlers. This book is silly and fun, and Ken Wilson-Max did an excellent job with the illustrations. They’re bright and fun to share.

Song: Quiet and Loud Movement

An excellent song from Mrs. Andre’s Library. Very fun and participatory, and easy for even little kids to do.

Quietly, quietly not a sound
I’m listening and listening
As I look around.
No sounds as I nod (nod head)
No sounds as I clap (clap hands)
No sounds as I tap my hands on my lap (tap)

Loudly, loudly stomp and clap
Loudly, loudly stomp and clap
Loudly, loudly stomp and clap
All that noise, well fancy that!


Book: Shhh by Kevin Henkes

Our copy of Shhh was so beat up that I had to withdraw it after this storytime. Whch is a shame, because it’s an excellent book! It worked incredibly well for storytime, even though it was a tad bit on the small side. I don’t get to shush much in my job, so it was kind of fun to have an excuse to!

Song: Two Little Blackbirds Sitting on a Cloud

The children’s librarian who I learned to do storytimes from always did a two little blackbirds variation with her preschoolers. I love how many variations there are on it, and how fun it is!

Two little blackbirds sitting on a cloud,
one named quiet and one named LOUD!
Fly away, quiet! Fly away, LOUD!
Come back, quiet! Come back, LOUD!

Instrument Play: Marmalade and Jam

Smith Public Library posted this PDF of one of their storytime sheets. It’s full of great ideas, including this Marmalade and Jam rhyme. I thought since we were doing soft and loud, it was a great excuse to get out a lot of the instruments we don’t get to use very often, like the bells, rhythm sticks, and those ones that look like wooden cups with a mallet-y stick (anybody know their actual name? I do not!). It was also good to practice our storytime philosophy of “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit”, since I passed out the instruments and didn’t allow trade ins. I’m such a meanie!

Bread and Butter
Marmalade and Jam
We play our instruments
As quietly as we
can:
Hello! (quietly)

Bread and Butter
Marmalade and Jam
We play our instruments
As loudly as we can:
Hello! (loudly)

Book: Stop Snoring, Bernard by Zachariah Ohora

Man, this book is totally adorable. Also, as someone who’s often subjected to snoring, I totally relate to the grumpy otter’s anger. A happy ending for all makes this an excellent and fun book, although perhaps one better appreciated by slightly older kids.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was  fun storytime, because we got to use the instruments, and we read lots of fun books. I would definitely do it again – maybe as part of an opposites series?!?

One thought on “Toddler Time: Quiet and Loud

Leave a Reply

