Toddler Time: Autumn

Even though it doesn’t feel like Fall at ALL, I decided to celebrate the calendar beginning of it with an Autumn storytime!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: Leaf Jumpers by Carole Gerber

Listen, this book is awesome. I mean, it has really strong poetic language, a varied and strong vocabulary, and good pictures. But man, what a flop for my toddler groups. I think it was a little too descriptive and so little actually happens that it didn’t keep their attention very well. Oh well.

Song: The Leaves on the Trees Turn Orange and Brown

This song from Perpetual Preschool was nice, although I think I’ve been riffing off of The Wheels on the Bus a little too much lately,

The leaves on the trees turn orange and brown, orange and brown, orange and brown. The leaves on the trees turn orange and brown, all through the town.
The leaves on the trees come tumbling down, tumbling down, tumbling down. The leaves on the trees coming tumbling down, all through the town.
The leaves on the ground go swish, swish, swish. Swish, swish, swish. Swish, swish, swish. The leaves on the ground go swish, swish, swish, all through the town.



Book:  Mouse’s First Fall by Lauren Thompson

I thought this book would be a hit, but I think because I combined it with two other incredibly sedate books, it didn’t get to live up to it’s full charm. I like all the vocabulary in this one, though! And it’s fun to look for Mouse’s tail when he’s hiding!

Rhyme: The Leaves are Falling Down

Found in PDF from Perry Public Library, this action rhyme was fun and silly. We did did it three times, because it’s not a common one everyone can join in on on the first try.

Leaves are falling from the trees (flutter
fingers down)
Yellow, brow, and red.
Falling, falling from above,
One landed on my head! (hand on head!)

Song: We rolled the song cube (here’s a great example of one over at Mel’s Desk, if you want to make your own). I realized it’s a lot easier to add some random fun into the storytime than to come up with three songs/rhymes/flannels that are a PERFECT FIT for every storytime. Plus, the tots don’t mind, as long as they’re having fun

.

Book: The Busy Little Squirrel by Nancy Tafuri

Oh, busy little squirrel. You’re so busy. I tried to get my group to say that refrain with me on this one, but they just weren’t having it. Plus my copy had TONS of scribbles on it on a couple of the double page spreads, so I had to clip ’em. Bummer.

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was just a lackluster storytime all around. I think my combination of books was a little too sedate. I need to remember to include at least one book with funny voices, or silly plotlines, or something else. Three description books just make my toddlers antsy. I don’t think it helped that the temperature was well into the 80s, if not the 90s, the day of my storytimes. Nothing feels like fall more than sweating through your shirt!

Leave a Reply

