Toddler Time: Feelings

A toddler time all about feelings! Okay, I know feelings are pretty high-concept for toddlers at first glance. But they have all the feelings we have! PLUS they are not great at expressing them, because their vocabulary isn’t always developed enough to say what they mean. So, we did a storytime all about feelings!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Baa Baa Black Sheep

Nursery Rhyme: Five Fat Sausages

Opening Fingerplay: Dance Your Fingers Up

Book: My Many Colored Days by Dr. Seuss

This book was the most abstract of the three we did today. I think colors are something that most kids at least understand the basics of, so I like the take on moods that pairs them with colors. The Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher paintings are amazing and fit the text perfectly. One of Seuss’s lesser-known works, but a great one none the less.

Song: If You’re Happy and You Know It

How could we do a feelings storytime and not sing everyone’s favorite song about being happy! This song is a winner all the time, because pretty much every parent knows it, and they’re willing to sing it.


Book:  Llama, Llama Mad at Mama

Llama Llama books are so great because the rhymes make them flow so well. Plus, I read this story at my outreach storytimes yesterday, so by my Toddler Two session today, I’d done it four times. I was a PRO at throwing a fit with Llama. I think it’s good to acknowledge that everybody (almost everybody?) throws a fit now and then, but that life is generally easier if you try to have fun.  Every kid was listening intently as I read this one!

Song: I Have Feelings, So Do You

Borrowed from Child Fun, this song feels a little cheesy, but it definitely lets kids make lots of silly faces. We sang it twice, because it’s not a song everyone knows!

I have feelings, you do too (point to self and then someone else)
Let’s all sing about a few
I am happy (smile)
I am sad (frown)
I get scared (wrap arms around self)
I get mad (Make a fist and shake it)
I have feelings (point to self)
You do too (point to someone else)
We just sang about a few.

Song: We rolled the song cube (here’s a great example of one over at Mel’s Desk, if you want to make your own), and ended up singing the Itsy Bitsy Spider at both storytimes! I’m trying to incorporate more interactive elements in to my storytimes, and the cube is so fun to roll together!

Book: Grumpy Bird by Jeremy Tankard

This book is so ridiculous and fun. I’m totally a grumpy bird some days, and my friends and family do a great job of making sure I don’t stay one. Our copy of this book is definitely on it’s way out, which is a bummer, because this is a great book!

Shaker Song: Shake It to the East

Shaker Song: Shaking your Shaker!

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

After forgetting my new shaker songs a few weeks ago, I’ve been more careful to have the words there, in case Ms Ariel needs to cheat and look at them for a minute. I was glad, because I spaced on the ending of Shaking Your Shaker, , but I just laughed, and the parents laughed, and all was good. So far, we’ve had tons of new faces in Toddler Time this session, which is fun! It keeps things new and interesting for me, plus it means more people are trying out the library!

Leave a Reply

