Toddler Time: Bugs (Again!)

Bugs are just too fun not to work into Summer!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: Tiny Little Fly by Michael Rosen

This book features HUGE pictures, a fold-out double page spread, and repeated refrain. Great for storytimes. We made got to guess what each animal was before it was revealed, and we made each of the motions the animal made. I would definitely re-use this one for African or Safari animals, too.

Action Song: The Bugs in the Field

I used this song in my last bug storytime — I snagged it from Mrs Jones Room, and I found it in a random Google search the first time through. Pretty fun!

The butterfly’s wings go
flap flap flap
flap flap flap
flap flap flap
the butterfly’s wings go
flap flap flap
all through the town

We also did the bees in the flowers, and ants in the grass.


Book: Butterfly, Butterfly by Petr Horack

Love this book, both for colors, and for bugs. The pop-out butterfly definitely wows kids – and the text is simple enough so that I don’t have to pin it or skip anything.

Action Dance:  The Ants Go Marching One by One

Remembered from my childhood. As short or as long as you want to make it!

Storytime Song: If You Want to Hear a Story

 

Book: Bettle Bop by Denise Flemming

Super short, with rhyming text and bright pictures. The text didn’t really hold the kids attention, though. I don’t think there was enough going on for them.

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was our smallest toddler time of the session, and it was actually the perfect size. We had about seventeen kiddos — and everyone could see and participate. I’m glad we’re going to start having two toddler times in the Fall; hopefully it will make them both smaller.

I also took this storytime on the road to a 3,4, and 5s summer program at a local daycare. I wish I had more time to put together some slightly older books, but I just arranged the outreach yesterday afternoon! It was still fun to get to see a new group of kids, and interact with some preschoolers. They’re so much more reactive than toddlers!

One thought on “Toddler Time: Bugs (Again!)

  1. Bugs is such a great storytime to do! It’s so easy to specialize it with specific bugs, or leave it broad. I wish I would have been around a few years ago when the Summer Reading Program theme was bugs!

Leave a Reply

