Toddler Time: Mice Are Nice!

Okay, I admit I’m definitely reaching to fit things in to the Dig into Reading theme with a mouse storytime. But mice live underground, right? And they are often under your feet in the floor, eep!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: Mouse Mess by Linnea Riley

Such a good storytime book! Just the right number of words per page to make it a quick read, colorful and bold illustrations that are easy to see from a distance, and even a plot! It’s surprisingly hard to find books for toddlers with any semblance of story progression. (Well, I guess not surprising — it’s not like you have much attention span to work with!). This would also be great to use for a food story time.

Song: Five Little Mice

I got this rhyme from Perry Public Library’s mouse storytime suggestions (click here for a link to the PDF). I ended up singing it to the tune of One Little Elephant. I just kinda made up movements that fit, and it was a pretty big hit.

Five little mice came out to play,
Gathering crumbs up on their way
Out came a pussy cat sleek and black
Five little mice went scampering back!

Four little mice…
No little mice came out (shake head no)
Out came a pussy cat sleek and black,
He saw no mice so he took a nap!


Book: If You Give A Mouse A Cookie by Laura Joffe Numeroff

I love this book, and consider it a classic, but the toddlers were just too wiggly to enjoy it this week! The preschool siblings who had joined us all enjoyed it much more, so I think I might have misjudged it’s complexity in terms of a readaloud for a large group.

Flannel:  Mouse Paint

I made a Mouse Paint flannel from Kizclub (that’s another PDF!) for a color storytime a few weeks ago. It is SUCH a good flannel set to have on hand – it’s great for colors, mice, art…and I really feel like the story is a good length to tell.

Book: Lunch by Denise Fleming

An AWESOME book for the end of storytime, when wiggles are high. Short, with great Denise-Flemmingly-great illustrations. It was fun for us to guess what each food was before we turned the page.

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

My biggest toddler time yet, with thirty kids and almost as many adults. The kids were just super wiggly, even though I could tell they were trying to listen. We have one more week of programming in this session and then I get a three week break! But there’s no rest for the wicked, because I have to start planning for the 17 week long (!!) Fall session. I’m hoping to change up my nursery rhymes and shaker songs, but I’d like to keep my hello and goodbye songs the same for consistency.

Overall, this was a really good storytime, even though it was crowded and h-o-t!

2 thoughts on “Toddler Time: Mice Are Nice!

Leave a Reply

