Toddler Time: Gardens

More dirt-y stuff with gardening this week!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: Planting a Rainbow by Lois Ehlert

Ehlert’s beautiful illustrations always make her books a hit. This text was short and simple — I almost wish I had used it toward the end of Toddler Time because it’s punchy enough to keep even waning toddlers attentive. Oh well, ya live and learn.

Nursery Rhyme: Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary

A classic! Probably a little short to be our only segue between two books, but I like using classic nursery rhymes whenever I can to encourage parents to do the same.
Mary Mary, quite contrary,
How does your garden grow?
With silver bells, and cockle shells,
And pretty maids all in a row


Book: Rah, Rah, Radishes! by April Pulley Sayre

I really like the vocabulary in this book! Not just peppers and tomatoes, but bok choy and kohlrabi, too. It’s a little long for toddlers, but a paper clip will solve all problems. I also like that it features photographs. This book keep their attention suprisingly well.

Action Rhyme:  I Dig, Dig, Dig

Perry Public Library has a great action rhyme in their Eat Their Peas storytime plan (link is to a PDF!). A fine action rhyme, although I do wish that it ended with sitting instead of standing. ‘Cause wrangling is hard!

I dig, dig, dig
And I plant some seeds
I rake, rake, rake
And I pull some weeds.
I wait and watch.
My garden sprouts, 
and starts to grow!

Flannel Board: Little Seed

I got this rhyme from Storytime Stuff, a blog I found from Googling around for gardening stuff. I made the watering can and seed packet from clip art, and freehanded the flower and leaves. The sun was from another flannel and was subbing in for the win!

We plant a little seed,
we add a little water.
The sun shines bright,
and the ground gets hotter.
Soon the seed sprouts,
and the green leaves round.
Out pops a flower,
what a beautiful surprise.

Book: My Garden by Kevin Henkes

I also clipped this one. I really like this book, but it wasn’t a great choice for the last book of story time. It kept their attention pretty well, but it was just a little too long and strange for them.

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

My second toddler time at my new branch went pretty well. I’m hoping to break the toddler times in to two sessions in the fall, because right now there are just too many bigger kiddos who run over the younger ones. We’re all still learning each other’s names and songs, but I know that the group is a really great one!

Leave a Reply

