Toddler Time: Building

I managed to snag one of the system’s sets of Duplos for my toddlers, so I thought we’d kick off our summer session with a building theme!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: I Love Tools by Philemon Sturges

I  really like Philemon Sturges — his language is so simple and has such great vocabulary. His books are an excellent addition to toddler times – the rhyme makes them perfect for reading out loud. The rhythm on this one wasn’t perfect – there are a couple of awkward page breaks – but overall, this book was a win. I kept the kids engaged by having them guess what the family was building!

Action Rhyme: This is the Way We Stack Our Bricks

Pre-K Fun has this simple rhyme. I modified it a little to make it simpler to sing. I had a small group this week, so this song felt really long. I think singing multiple verses to two families who aren’t singing back can make things feel silly. I didn’t let it stop me, though!

This is the way we stack our bricks,
Stack our bricks, stack our bricks.
This is the way we stack our bricks,
So we can build a house!

(saw our boards, paint the walls)


Book: What Can a Crane Pick Up? by Rebecca Kai Dotlich

A short rhyming book that features a crane picking up all kinds of silly things. I think the illustrations in this book, while bright and colorful, would work really well in a one-on-one environment. There’s so much detail and fun stuff to look at!

Action Rhyme:  Cranes Reach Up

Storytime Katie provided this simple action rhyme. Short, and to the point!

Cranes reach up,
Cranes reach down,
Cranes reach out,
And all around.

Song: Cement Mixer Chant

Another chant from the PreK fun page I linked above, I also modified this one to be more rhyming!

Cement mixer comes
(pretend to drive truck)
Cement mixer comes
With a rumble rumble ruck
(roll one hand over the other)
Rumble rumble ruck
(shovel in the sand – pretend to shovel,
add the cement – carry bags,
mix the water in – stirring motion,
keep the mixer turning
(roll hands faster and faster)
keep the mixer turning
keep the mixer turning
or the concrete will get hard 
(Freeze in place)

Road Work Ahead

Book: Road Work Ahead by Anastasia Suen

I accidentally picked three rhyming books this week! This one depicts all the road work a family encounters on their way to grandma’s. It’s pretty fun, although some stuff made me scratch my head. I’ve never seen a road worker use an umbrella before!

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This toddler time was the first of our summer session! Honestly, it was a bit of a rocky start! We had two separate families who came in to toddler time and then left right away because the parents didn’t think the little ones would behave. Despite my protestations that kids learn to behave in listening situations, and it doesn’t come naturally for most kids, we lost ’em. At one point, I was just reading to one family of regulars. I ended up skipping a couple of the songs and we had an extra short reading session. The DUPLO blocks were a hit, though. Hopefully things will get busier as we move in to summer!

One thought on “Toddler Time: Building

Leave a Reply

