Toddler Time: Music

This theme was a bit of a challenge, but I think I managed to find really fun stuff without compromising on quality.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: Little Pig Joins the Band by David Hyde Costello

This book has so many great band instruments in it. Not exactly vocabulary you’ll use everyday, but really nice for creating richness of language! Plus, toddlers definitely relate to not being big enough to do things. The only odd blip in reading it is the asides/dialog can be kind of awkward to read. But overall a really nice, short book that introduces fun concepts without being unwieldy.

Song: Two Little Blackbirds

Our old Toddler-Timer used to do a lot of two little blackbirds sitting on a hill. I’m totally bringing it back, y’all! I talked about how music sounds are different from each other and how that makes music.

Two little blackbirds sitting on a hill.
One named Jack and one named Jill.
Fly away jack! Fly away Jill!
Come back jack! Come back Jill!

(Sitting on a cloud/soft/loud,
Sitting on snow/fast/slow,
sitting in the sky/low/high)

Book: Tanka Tanka Sunk by Steve Webb

One of my favorite readalouds, just because it’s really fun to read aloud. Not a lot of plot, but the rhythm of the words is a great opportunity to talk about things that sound like music, even though they aren’t. Also, skunks!

Action Song: Play an Instrument

We put on Ella Jenkin’s Play and instrument and I passed out bells. Due to my slightly hurried planning (I was out sick yesterday!), I totally didn’t realize this song featured so many different instruments in the instructions. If I were doing this program again, I would find a song that focused more on shaking your instrument fast and slow, soft and loud, stop and go, and less on the rhythm sticks, triangle, etc.

Song: Clap, Clap, Clap Your Hands

I got this song from Storytime For Two Year Olds by Judy Nichols. It’s a fun song, but one of my toddlers (I only had two today!) was outraged that we had been doing instruments without and not singing the shaker song, so we cut it short. We only did one verse!

Clap, clap, clap your hands!
Clap your hands with me!
Clap them fast.
Clap them slow.
Clap your hands with me!
(stomp your feet, pat your knees, la-la sing a song)

Book: Jazz Baby  by Lisa Wheeler and R. Gregory Christie

Another great book with fun rhythm.  I like that it has a plot without losing the rhyming and being too wordy. Also features good vocabulary like scat (the music, not the poop)!

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

A solid storytime plan that just didn’t end up having very many attendees! We had three families total, but one came in while we were doing playtime. I’d definitely read these books and do these extension activities again, though, since the toddlers I did have had fun.

Leave a Reply

