Toddler Time: Get Well Soon!

It seems like everyone has either been sick or been hit will killer allergies of doom the past couple of weeks, so I thought I’d just play in to that with a Get Well Soon theme.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: How Do Dinosaurs Get Well Soon by Jane Yolen

Our copy of this book is totally ugly,  and I had to clip some pages, but man do we all love some dinosaurs. One little girl was shaking her head during the question part at the beginning — she definitely knew that dinosaurs did not throw their covers off the bed.

Song: If You’re Sick and You Know It 

My first song I made up all on my own! It was super fun to sing, and was a great transition from How Do Dinosaurs Get Well Soon because we got to do all the things dinosaurs weren’t doing. Yay!

If you’re sick and you know it
cover your mouth

(cough into elbow)
If you’re sick and you know it
cover your mouth

If you’re sick and you’re cranky,
just sit back and grab a hanky!
If you’re sick and you know it
cover your mouth

(hug your mom, drink some juice)

Book: Llama Llama Home with Mama by Anna Dewdney

I was a little worried about Llama Llama being too long for my toddler group, but he’s such a beloved character that they sat so still the entire time. I do enjoy that the Llama books are rhyming AND have a nice, strong plot. So many books don’t have both!

Action Rhyme: Eat An Apple
from Storytime Katie

I kinda had to stretch to get some relevant songs for this theme. Before we did this action poem, I just talked a little bit about the phrase “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”. Even though toddlers probably aren’t using too many idioms yet, it’s always good to model the behavior of exposing kids to new language to their parents!

Eat an apple.  (bring right hand to mouth)
Save the core. (close right hand in fist)
Plant the seeds, (touch the ground)
and grow some more! (extend arms up)

Rhyme: Ah-choo! Ah-choo!
From Storytime Katie

This puppet play was really fun to us! I got the skeleton of it from Storytime Katie.  We don’t have any farmer puppets, so I put on my farmer hat for the first verse. After each verse, I would say “oh no! The farmer (or whoever) didn’t cover his mouth, and now the chicken is feeling sick!”. The lamb in the last verse DID cover his mouth, though, so he didn’t get anyone else sick.

Farmer’s nose tingles.
Farmer’s nose twitches.
And he is going to sneeze!
Ah-choo, ah-choo, ah-choo!
Ah-choo, ah-choo, ah-choo!
(Cow, moo-choo/pig, oink-choo/chicken, bawk-choo)

Book: Chu’s Day by Neil Gaiman

Okay, I know Chu isn’t sick, but he’s a sneezer! So I talked about how sometimes we sneeze even when we aren’t sick! The toddlers really liked this title, which I was a little surprised at. I love the bold illustrations and sparse text, but I was a bit worried my little ones wouldn’t get the joke of it. They did, though! This book is super fun to read outloud.

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was definitely one of the themes that made me stretch the most, in terms of thinking of storytime stretchers and books that would work. It was, surprisingly, a hit, and I’m pretty pumped I managed to incorporate puppets – a storytime staple I haven’t been using much – effectively.

Leave a Reply

