Toddler Time: Spring Showers

It’s been drizzly and muggy here all week, so I thought we’d talk about rain and spring today! Plus all the non-rain Spring books were checked out, so I had to improvise!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Book: It’s Raining, It’s Pouring by Kin Eagle

A nice, silly extension of the classic song. It’s still super easy to sing, and it had lots of funny stuff happening. I really liked it and will definitely use it again!

Fingerplay: The Rain is Falling Down

Snagged this super-easy finger play from Storytime Katie. I love how easy it is and how you can just keep doing it until the toddlers understand how to do it.  A lot of intricate finger plays just don’t work with their tiny little hands, but this one is simple enough for everyone to do.

The rain is falling down (flutter fingers down)
SPLASH! (clap once loudly)
Pitter patter pitter patter (tap legs softly)
The rain is falling down (flutter fingers down)
SPLASH! (clap once loudly)
Pitter patter pitter patter (tap legs softly)
[Repeat until kids are worn out.]

Book: Mud by Mary Lyn Ray

I really love the large, colorful spreads and evocative but simple language in this book. It’s such a good book about spring and the melting of the world, but I’m not a hundred percent sure my Texas toddlers understood what it meant for the snow to melt. We need more books about spring in the the more southerly states!

Free Dance!

I pulled out the colorful wrist ribbons and we made rainbows by dancing! I put on a kid’s CD and we were off! Relatedly: dancing like a crazy lady for three and a half minutes is exhausting!

Song: The Raindrop Song

I’m not a hundred percent sure, but I think I somehow picked this one up from Barney. Eep!!

If all the raindrops 
Were lemon drops and gumdrops, 
Oh, what a rain that would be! 
Standing outside, with my mouth open wide. 
Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah-ah-ah-ah-ah-ah! 
If all the raindrops 
Were lemon drops and gumdrops, 
Oh! What a rain that would be!

Book: Split! Splat! by Amy Gibson

I love the musicality of this book, which highlights how a Spring storm and playing in the mud makes sounds that are almost like a song. The bright illustrations and quick read make it just right.

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was definitely a more appropriate storytime age-wise than my last one. A couple of our regulars who have been gone for a couple of months came back, and I think everyone had fun and enjoyed the stories.

Leave a Reply

