Toddler Time: Big and Little

Hi all! I just got back from a staycation (a vacation at home!), so this is the toddler time I did a week ago. I tried a concept-based theme, and I think it went…okay? Here’s the breakdown:

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: Small, Medium, and Large by Emily Jenkins

Nice vocabulary in this one, but it was a little over the heads of my toddlers. I really enjoy the bright colors and fun illustrations, though. I’ll definitely use it again for an outreach or for older kids.

Song: This is Big, Big, Big

Melissa over at Mel’s Desk came up with this to use as an opening action rhyme and uses it every week. We did it three times, so the toddlers would all know how to do it by the end.

This is big big big
Hold arms out to side

This is small small small
Cup hands together

This is short short short
Hold hands with palms facing each other

This is tall tall tall
Reach one hand above head

This is fast fast fast
Circle fists quickly

This is slow slow slow
Circle fists slowly

This is yes yes yes
Nod

This is no no no
Shake head

Book: A Pig is Big by Douglas Florian

Another really great book that just went a wee bit over their heads. I’d try this book again with preschoolers. Man, I was  just a little off for this whole story time!

Action Rhyme: Show Me Something Big

We did this one three times, too! I found it when I was Googling around and landed on a random children’s library website. It was fun! and then ended up sitting down at the end! Double win!

Show me something BIG,
Show me something small.
Spin in a circle but try not to fall.
Clap your hands, stomp your feet.
Shake your arms, then take a seat.

 

Flannel: I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean

Storytime Katie again tipped me off to an awesome flannel over at Kizclub. It turned out amazing! But again, I guess I thought I was planning a preschool story time, so it was a little over their heads! Maaaaaan.

Song: The Itsy Bitsy Spider

I bet you know the words to this one, so no explanation necessary.!

Book: Itsy-Bitsy Baby Mouse by Michelle Meadows

Sweet story about a little mouse that gets lost and then gets help finding his way home. One of my toddlers decided that she’d rather sing Itsy Bitsy Spider during this book than when the rest of us were singing, but I just barreled right along and made it through.

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

I feel like I missed the mark on almost every aspect of this toddler time. I don’t know what I was thinking. I am definitely going to try to pick out easier themes in the future, though. Toddlers just aren’t ready for a lot of concept books yet (in a public setting, I mean. Attention spans can be a lot longer at home or one-on-one)!

2 thoughts on “Toddler Time: Big and Little

Leave a Reply

