Toddler Time: Colors

Sticking with basic themes as I get comfortable with Toddler Time, this week I went with colors! I was kinda going to try to do art, but that’s harder. So colors, yay!

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhyme: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Opening Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Book: My Many Colored Days by Dr. Seuss

I didn’t know about this book until I was browsing our new picture books and come across one of our replacement copies.  It’s super awesome! It’s based on a writing Dr. Seuss did, but the illustrations are paintings by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher. It’s got really simple text and illustrations, but it’s really nice to read aloud. It could definitely also be used for story times about feelings, or art, or expressing yourself…

Song: Drivin’ Around in My Little Red Car

I got this song from Storytime Katie. I totally spaced on the tune, though (Ten Little Indians wasn’t a song I sang when I was little!) and the song morphed in to

Driving around in my little red car
little red car, little red car.
Driving around in my little red car,
zoom zoom zoom zoom zoom.

We did the song several times, with the kids (or their parents) suggesting the color for the next time. They really enjoyed it, especially since I made the hand motions (steering motions for first part, patting lap for zoom) super easy.

Book: Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin

Everybody loves Pete the Cat, right? Super fun story, and one mom even commented after we finished reading about how much she loved it. The kids were totally captivated by it.

Free Dance! 

We have some awesome, colorful wrist ribbons, and I put on a Laurie Berkner CD and we jammed for a song. The kids were totally in to this! I definitely need to incorporate more dancing in to story time.

Flannel: Mouse Paint

Again, totally inspired by Storytime Katie’s color post, I made a flannel for Mouse Paint. It’s one of my first really intricate flannels, and it was so fun! I didn’t read the story, but I propped the book up in front and left it out for reading later.

Action Rhyme: The Color That I See

Fun little game, and it goes like this:

Red, red is the color that I see.
If you’re wearing red, then show it to me!
Stand up, turn around.
Show me your red, then sit back down!

Pretty fun! It was definitely nice to incorporate a little more of a game-like thing in storytime. The parents were really good sports and participated, too!

Book: Lemons are Not Red by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

A new book to me, I made it into a game, too! The kids did a really good job telling me what color things should be! The eggplant confused everyone, though. They’re not as distinctive as you would think!

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Pum

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye I’ll See You Soon

This was definitely the best storytime I’ve done so far. I feel like I’m getting more comfortable with the idea of storytime, and having so many different kinds of things (stories, action rhymes, songs, free dancing, flannels) was a lot of work, but totally worth it. The kids seemed more engaged, and one family who just happened upon storytime really enjoyed the experience. Their son was really excited to dance, and the shakers made his day.

I’ve also been working on improving my transitions. Sitting down and thinking about how I’m moving from story to activity and then writing it down has really made things smoother.

I feel like every storytime I do is getting a little bit better. I really want to continue to improve and get better, and make sure I include different fun stuff in each storytime.

3 thoughts on “Toddler Time: Colors

Leave a Reply

