Toddler Time: Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to be Cowboys

Well, the San Antonio Rodeo and Stock show was wrapping up here, and what better time to do some talking about cowboys? Plus, uh, we’re TEXAS! We gotta have a ridiculous amount of pride. It’s practically in our state charter.

Opening Song: My Hands Say Hello

Nursery Rhymes: Hickory Dickory Dock and Diddle Diddle Dumpling

Story: Giddy Up, Cowgirl by Jarrett J Krosoczka 

I like this story because it has lots of silly songs, and because Cowgirl’s mom loves her no matter what mistakes she makes. My kids weren’t super in to this, or not in to it. They just kind of listened. Which, hey, I’m going to count as a total win!

Song: If You’re a Cowboy and You Know It

I got both my songs this week from this somewhat random site that showed up in my Google search.

If you’re a cowboy and you know it shout “yeehaw”
If you’re a cowgirl and you know it shout “yeehaw”
If you’re a cowboy and you know it
then your boots will surely show it
If you’re a cowgirl and you know it shout “yeehaw”

Book: Clip-Clop by Nicola Smee

I was initially going to read Cowboy Bunnies by Christine Loomis for this part of storytime. While I love the rhythm of the text of Cowboy Bunnies, though, the illustrations (which are paintings on scraps of lumber) don’t read very well in a storytime setting. So I went with Clip-Clop by Nicola Smee instead. These books are so short and fun that they’re always a favorite. I did have one little lady who talked through this one, but the other toddlers were really interested in the story.

Song: I’m a Little Cowboy (to the tune of I’m a Little Teapot)

I’m a little cowboy
Wearing a hat.
Here are my spurs
And here are my chaps.
Get up every morning
and work all day.
Then hop on my horse
and ride away.

We did this one twice to give the kids a chance to pick up on the little motions. They’re pretty much what you would expect (putting on a hat, showing off your spurs), and the toddlers picked them up by the second time around. They seemed to enjoy this, but I really need to work on my transitions. After we were done with the song, I just kind of awkwardly said, “well, that was fun. Now let’s read a story!”

Book: She’ll Be Comin’ Round the Mountain by Philemon Sturges

I really like this version of the folk song. It’s got lots of silly words, and the Southwestern animal characters make it extra fun. It’s a little long, so I clipped together a few pages. I really like that they include some fun Spanish words (like ensalada!) in the text, given how bilingual this city is. I sang this one, and the toddlers pretty much listened, although they were all antsy-pantsy by then.

Shaker Songs: We’re Going to Kentucky and Shake Your Shakers High

Song: Rum Pum Song

Goodbye Song: Goodbye, Goodbye, I’ll See You Soon

Overall, this was an okay toddler time. My numbers have definitely plummeted in the three weeks since I took over, which is kind of a bummer. Hopefully it’s not because parents are fleeing from me at every chance, but because of coincidence? Anyway, boldly ahead I go!

Leave a Reply

